Concordia College has a rich history and tradition as an academic and a caring school, encouraging and supporting young people to be successful, independent learners.
Established in 1890 in the Victorian country town of Murtoa as a boy's college and training ground for future pastors and teachers, Concordia moved to its present location in Highgate in 1905.
St John’s Lutheran Primary School was opened on the adjacent site in 1952. Since its opening the school has enjoyed a long and close association with the St John’s Lutheran Church congregation in Unley.
Over time, enrolment numbers at both schools have grown and facilities have expanded and adapted. Although Concordia is no longer a boarding school, it has many years’ experience providing for boarders. In fact, until 1988 Concordia operated two boarding houses on the edge of the campus. Concordia continues to accommodate a small number of country and overseas students in homestay accommodation.
In 2005, the first Year 7 intake joined Concordia College. On 1 January 2016, Concordia College and St John’s Lutheran School joined together as one school, catering for around 1275 students from ELC to Year 12.
Opened in March 2015 to commemorate the 125th anniversary of Concordia College, the Heritage Trail offers a fascinating insight into Concordia’s rich history. Encapsulating in words and pictures the unfolding history of the Concordia campus and its buildings, the Heritage Trail records these stories and memories for the benefit of old collegians, as well as for future generations. A special booklet has been designed to accompany the Heritage Trail, copies of which are available free of charge at the Main Reception. View Heritage Trail Booklet online.
Interested to discover more about Concordia’s rich heritage? Our archives contain past magazines, books, photographs, uniforms and other school memorabilia. To find out more, or to renew your association with Concordia by volunteering in the Heritage Centre or by donating an item to Concordia’s historical collection, please contact Jenni van Wageningen, Archivist. To read some brief insights into life at Concordia throughout the years, view our stories 'from the Archives'.